Used Tablet PC

Thread: Tablet for University...?

1. Default Tablet for University...?

Hi everyone,
    I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions for which tablet I would be better off getting.

I will be attending university in the Fall, pursuing a degree in journalism. I have a degree in social work, but back when I got that one (I only graduated in 2007) people in my classes didn't even use a laptop let alone a tablet.

so if I were to chose to use a tablet, I was wondering if someone could give me the benefits for university and also suggestions as to what I should buy.

Thanks in advance! :)

<<...anyone had any suggestions for which tablet I would be better off getting...>>

Sylvie: This classic question requires some (also) classic information from you before anyone can attempt to give you an informed answer. Other than, presumably, taking class notes and working up homework assignments, what else do you intend to do with this device? Surf the web? Sketch, draw or use PhotoShop? Gaming? The first few items are pretty easy, but the last two can be extremely demanding (and might actually be the items that determine your best tablet choices).

Finally, do you intend to have a desktop (or other) computer available as well, or are you thinking about making the tablet your only computer? Again, that makes a big difference in what might be acceptable...

Journalism will likely require a lot of typing and Lenovo thinkpads have the best keyboards. I just switch from an HP to a Lenovo myself, and I just love typing on this thing. Not that the HP keyboard was bad by any stretch, but the thinkpad one is just that good. The benefits to getting the tablet version would be inking for markup and editing, which is really fun. I have done editing with both text comments in word or google docs and also transfered stuff into OneNote to pull out the red pen and have at it. I have to say, working with a pen for editing is really nice.
    Formerly known as violajack.