Used Tablet PC
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Motion J3500 - A Doctor's Perspective

Blog Entries

Default Motion J3500 - A Doctor's Perspective

When one of my customers was considering the Motion J3500 for his practice, I agreed to lend him one free for two weeks in exchange for a review. He has done a great job and here is the review:

MOTION J3500

by Kirk T. Dodson, M.D.
    December 2010

Introduction

As a physician who is mobile in multiple environments, I was quite interested when Motion released their new slate tablet pc, the J3500, in June of this year.
    I’m an Internal Medicine physician that practices in the office, hospital, nursing home, and personal care home. I occasionally do house calls. My computer is more than just a tool; it’s an essential part of my life in terms of managing both the medical practice as well as my personal life. As one who enjoys digital music, video editing, and e-books, I spend a large amount of time on my tablet computer.

Why Tablets?

I find tablet pcs vital to my practice, having used them since 2002. Tablets have been around for almost two decades though were utilized primarily in vertical markets and didn’t attract mass appeal until the release of Apple’s iPad, which has sold just over 7.5 million since its release in April 2010.

Given the move to electronic medical records (EMRs), tablets provide the ideal vehicle, allowing almost continuous face-to-face interaction with patients in a non-obtrusive manner. Patient perception of physician attentiveness is facilitated by tablet computers as the tablet resides between the patient and physician, much like a paper chart, serving as a digital clipboard. Contrast this with a laptop whereby the physician often types in front of the patient, focusing attention between the patient and keyboard. Worse yet, some physicians use a desktop, sitting with their back is to the patient during clinical documentation which detracts significantly from patient-physician interaction.