Used Tablet PC
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: small tablet???

1. Default small tablet???

Hi Everyone,

Please bear with me as I have many concerns as to which tablet is best for me and what I'm looking for may not even be possible as I truly want one device to serve many purposes.

I am a coach who works primarily outdoors and has a lot of data collection (numerical). Currently I record most of it into a spiral notebook and transfer it to a laptop at a later time. This seems inefficient as I'm writing the data twice. So I'd like a small tablet (I'll be holding it in my hands for 2hr practices), the screen needs to be viewable outdoors. I figured if it was small enough I could tuck it into my coat on cold days, and for rainy days I could keep it inside a waterproof map case (heavy duty ziploc).

I'd mainly use exel or access as software.

To complicate things, I'd also like something for note taking at meetings, for sketching in my spare time, and to use as a portable photo storage to download pictures from my dslr while on vacation.

After reading this forum and others like it, it seems like the Motion LS800 is almost perfect, but discontinued. I've seen them for what seems to be a decent price on ebay, but it does seem odd to buy discontinued electronics as it seems to get outdated so fast. This tablet is the same size as my current spiral bound notebook that I use.

Lastly, I'm low on funds, so I'd like to stay under $1000 if possible. If anyone has some suggestions I'd be very appreciative. I'd also like to know if anyone has used the LS800 without the view anywhere screen outside and if this works at all or not?

Thanks in advance!

I chose to purchase the HP TC1100 on the basis of it's size and that it can be used as a slate. Together with the fact that they are fairly low-cost, and can be upgraded fairly easily. It is also fairly rugged and you can still get the water-resistant cases...

3. Default