PDA

View Full Version : [eureka] How about putting together a little k

dirkLeas
02-23-2003, 05:18 AM
[eureka]
How about putting together a little knowledgebase for helping folks get a sense of applicability of a TClK for different types of jobs/usage. I started a list. Feel free to comment/agree/disagree based on your experience. I put the assumption of 60% dedicated use in the particular area. For example, if I draw 2-3 doodles a week as a lawyer, I might not care about the pressure sensitivity as I would as a graphics artist.

Applicability by Core Job Function/Usage (60% or more):

* Student - Yes
* Graphic Artist - No
* Software Engineer/Architect/Analyst - Yes
* Programmer/DBA/System Admin- No
* General Home/Internet Surfer - Yes
* Gamer - No
* Consultant/Lawyer/Doctor/etc. - Yes
* Accountant/CPA/Bookkeeper - Yes
* Journalist/Media Professional - Yes
* Truck Driver - Yes

In my estimations, a "No" vote doesn't mean it absolutely wouldn't work, it just means a typical user probably wouldn't find the compromises worthwhile.

Spencer
02-23-2003, 06:27 AM
Good list, and I agree with you on most of them. I do think though that the TC1000 is an ideal machine for programmers. I've said many times how I use it for programming, with the detachable keyboard and all. Visual Studio runs great, especially with an external monitor to add screen space. But I have no problem programming just with the TC1000 screen alone, as the matter of fact most of this site is programmed on my TC1000.

Anyway, that is just my take on the programmer/developer job function as far as the TC1000 goes.

Kupe
02-23-2003, 11:08 AM
Add:

- Sales force member (especially mobile) - YES
- Field analyst (i.e. data collection) - YES

Kupe

TMetzinger
02-23-2003, 01:45 PM
I'd add that while NONE of the tabPCS are gaming machines, the TC1000 is the best of the current lot.

kev452
02-23-2003, 03:54 PM
I would add.
Teacher - LOVE it.
Kevin

Dennis Rice
02-24-2003, 02:17 AM